Help Forums

Running with Matlab an Abaqus python script involving a subroutine  

totofr
(@totofr)

Hello,

I have succeeded in executing, with the classical abaqus command line window, a python script which makes use of a subroutine. No problem, calculations went fine.

But when I want to do the same from matlab, this does not work and results into an error.

system(['abaqus cae noGUI=script.py']);

-> error from matlab: WindowsError: [Error 2] The system cannot find the file specified

Does someone know how to solve this problem or is it possible to do this under matlab in the first place ?

thanks

Topic Tags
5 Replies
Jorgen
(@jorgen)

I have stopped using Matlab, I now prefer the language Julia. Julia is free, and developed by a team from MIT. (My minor while I studied for my Ph.D. at MIT was in numerical math, and I took classes from the same team that later developed Julia.)

It should certainly be possible to do what you are trying to do using Matlab. It you are using a Windows computer, then you may have to specify the complete path to "abaqus.bat" for it to work. Since I prefer Linux, I don't need to worry so much about bat-files any more 😎 

-Jorgen

3 Replies
totofr
(@totofr)

@jorgen

Hello Jorgen,

thanks for your reply and the introduction to Julia.

I have checked in matlab with getenv('PATH') and the path for "abaqus.bat" is correctly specified: C:\SIMULIA\Abaqus\Commands

(the paths for the fortran compiler are also present).

By the way, when I use the same command in Matlab with a python script not using a fortran subroutine, it works well. It can execute the job without problem.

I am really confused.

best

David Nolan
(@davidn)

@totofr