Notifications
Clear all

Friction energy dissipation in LS DYNA

5 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter
(@shfkyl666)

Im relatively new to LS-DYNA and Im working with a simple contact model of a softball. Its a solid ball (with an initial velocity of 60-120 MPH) directly impacting a fixed solid cylinder. The aluminum cylinder is very stiff relative to the ball, so only the ball deforms. The homogeneous ball is the standard linear viscoelastic material (LS DYNA mat_006) and the cylinder is elastic.

I adjusted the ball material properties to match experimental data (rebound velocity, impact force and contact time). However, I have an interesting problem. The experimental results show that when the ball impacts a cylinder, the rebound velocity is less than that of an impact with a rigid flat plate. However, the LS DYNA model shows the opposite trend: the rebound velocity for the cylinder impact is higher. I believe that the viscoelastic material is adequate and not causing this discrepancy.

My current hypothesis is that the frictional energy loss on the contact surfaces is significant and larger for the cylinder-ball impact. The ball impacting a cylinder tends to have significant sliding on the contact surfaces due to the large deformation of the ball. When I add friction (set the static friction coefficient SF=0.1) in the contact properties (Automatic Surface-to-Surface), there is less sliding between the contact surfaces, but the rebound velocity does not change significantly.

[B]

How to I ensure that the frictional energy dissipation is being included in the energy calculations? Also, how do I plot the frictional energy dissipation to see if it is a significant form of energy loss?[/B]

After reading online support websites, I tried changing the following cards:

Control_Contact: set FRCENG =1

Control_Energy: set SLNTEN=2

But this did not change my rebound velocity results.