Clear all

Abaqus / Viscoelasticity

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter
(@KelvinVE)

Hi Jorgen

I am a beginner in ABAQUS and I need to simulate a tire using viscoelastic proprierties of the rubber. At first, I know the Mooney Rivlin coeficients (C01 =0.825, C10 = 0.8 and D1 = 0.012) and I have the relaxation test data (concerning t, G(t)) and frequency sweep data (concerning G,G,G* and freq.). However I do not know how could a set the long term modulus in the input file of ABAQUS.

I mean , if I write

*HYPERELASTIC, MODULI=LONG TERM,MOONEY-RIVLIN

*VISCOELASTIC,TIME=FREQUENCY DATA

G1/Ginf , 1-G1/Ginf,,,freq1

G2/Ginf , 1-G2/Ginf,,,freq2

G3/Ginf , 1-G3/Ginf,,,freq3

Gk/Ginf , 1-Gk/Ginf,,,freqk

where the Ginf = long term modulus

But how can I find the value of Ginf to calculate G/Ginf and G/Ginf ?

If I write MODULI=INSTANTANEOUS instead of MODULI=LONG TERM, how could I calculate Ginf and consequently G/Ginf and G/Ginf?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

I tried to change the input file writing:

*VISCOELASTIC,TIME=RELAXATION TEST DATA

*SHEAR TEST DATA,SHRINF = ratiog

gr1 , t1

gr2 , t2

gr3 , t3

grk , tk

where grk = G*(tk)/G(0) and ratiog = Ginf/G0

Usually,the value of Ginf can be found in the relaxation test data (it is the last measured point or interpolated after the last point) and G0 is the G(t=0), but if everything is normalized by G0, I must inform the G0, mustnt I ? How could I do that.

For this material, as I had told, I have both the Sweep Frequency Test Data and a Relaxation Test Data. The problem is when a run a dynamic analysis model (first using the Sweep Frequency Data and after, in the same model, using the Relaxation Test Data), there a considerable difference between the responses (strain, stress, displacements, damping ...etc)