Clear all

2D Fung Hyperelastic material in Abaqus

8 Posts
3 Users
0 Reactions
Topic starter
(@Radwa)

Hi!

Im quite new to modeling hyperelastic materials. Im trying to model aorta using built-in orthotropic Fung model in Abaqus, needing 11 constants:

b1111 b2222 b3333 b1122 b1133 b2233 b1212 b1313 b2323 c D

In the literature, a 2D fung model is assumed and b2222, b2233, b3333 and c are calculated where 1,2 and 3 axes are for radial, circumferential, and axial, respectively.

I am modeling a cylinder for aorta and using Fung model for the material section, using the data from literature for material constants b2222, b2233, b3333 and c. I assigned 0 for the rest of the constants. However, job is terminated with the error indicating the stiffness matrix is not positive definite. Knowing that I dont have the data for b1111,... what do you recommend? Should I put a small value like 1e-10 for the rest of the constants? BTW, I use D=0.

thanks for your help

Nima

7 Replies
(@jorgen)

First I would check the stability of your Fung model by simulating a single element under displacement boundary conditions. If that works then I would do the same thing using force boundary conditions.

I dont recall the exact definition of the different terms, but b1111 seems like an important term that should not be zero. Can you find suitable parameters in the literature?

-Jorgen

7 Replies
Topic starter
(@Radwa)

Thank you very much Dr. Jorgen
In the literature, there are several people worked on this type of hyperelasticity. You suggested using a single element, but the problem is material properties. In one of the literatures I read, the parameters are as follows:
c=5 kPa, b2222=14.5, b3333=7, and b2233=0.1.
I tried modeling a cylinder, using shell, extrusion for the aorta. Then in the material properties I used these values for fung orthotropic: