Clear all

Rubber Material Modeling using Abaqus

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Reactions
Topic starter
(@sdebock)

Hello Dr. Jorgen

I am very new to Rubber material in Abaqus. I am reading Abaqus manuals and till now I only know, there are two methods to define Hyperelasticity. Either you can choose Starin Energy Potential and define temperature dependent material parameters. And other one is using Test Data if available. I have two questions according to both,

1. I have EPDM rubber material with parameter hardness only. I have converted that into Youngs modulus. Now how should I convert that into different material dependent parameters if I model hyperelasticity using Starin Energy Potential (MR, NH etc). Again which parameters are need to be consider during modeling.

2. Now I have Force-displacement data for Axial loading. I converted that into Nominal stress-Nominal strain data. Again which parameters are need to be consider in this approach.

I know I have very little knowledge at this time but I am damn sure when I will know, which parameters are need to be consider, it will be easy for me.

Help will be appreciated

Thank you

Topic Tags
8 Replies
(@lzmaine16)

How did you convert hardness parameter to young modulus?

Which empiricial formula did you use?

Can you explain?

And is it Shore A or Shore D

Topic Tags
8 Replies
Topic starter
(@sdebock)

Hello farezehiri

The material which I have is EPDM rubber, shore A with hardness 40 to 90. And you will get many literature on internet for the empiricial formula to convert hardness parameter to young modulus. One of i got is,

[url] http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0109564109001237 [/url]

Do you know the further procedure??

Topic starter
(@sdebock)

Hello Dr. Jorgen