Clear all

Simulating rubber mounts behavior in a precise way

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Reactions
Topic starter
(@ddesai)

Dear experts,

at first i want to introduce myself. My name is Christian. I work as a research assistent and Phd student on the University of Technology Freiberg, Germany. My research topic is about rubber bushings in passenger cars.

I going to simulate their behavior in a precise way. Some papers und my own experimental results tells me a very complicated behavior during multiaxial loadings. These rubber mount can be imagined as simple cylinders. Combined loadings (e. g. an axial displacement with a simultaneously twist around the same axis) leads to nonlinear relationships. The torsional moment decreases with increasing axial displacment until a special point and furthermore increases with increasing axial displacement. Commercial avaiable constitutive models does not fit this very special bahavior very well.

Does anyone know a constitutive model which can overcome this drawback?

Thank you very much!

Kind regards, Christian

3 Replies
(@K3v1n17)

What commercial software are you referring to and what constitutive models?
I assume you are interested in both loading and unloading and at fairly high strain rates?

3 Replies
Topic starter
(@ddesai)

[QUOTE=afreiden,10014]What commercial software are you referring to and what constitutive models?

I assume you are interested in both loading and unloading and at fairly high strain rates?

Hi Afreiden,

thank for your reply.

At first I was unsing ANSYS 14. Included hyperelastic models are mooney rivlin, arruda boyce, gent, yeoh, neo hook, bergstrm boyce (only in ANSYS mechanical).