Clear all

Question about DDSDDE and STRESS variables in UMAT

13 Posts
5 Users
0 Reactions
Topic starter
(@karenha)

Hello,

I am a newbie of UMAT and just begin to learn how to use it.

Looking at the UMAT manual, I found DDSDDE should be updated as the Jacobian matrix, and Stress need to be updated as the stess at the end of the increment.

I am little confused. Since we already have Jacobian matrix, we can calculate stress increment from strain increment DSTRAIN. So, why we still need to define stress using STRESS variable?

Sorry for so simple question 😳

Derek

Topic Tags
12 Replies
(@jorgen)

The UMAT subroutine has two main purposes: (1) update the stress, (2) return the Jacobian matrix. The stress update has to be very exact, but the Jacobian only has to be accurate enough to give good convergence.

In practice, for many advanced models, it is quite challenging to create an algorithmic consistent Jacobian, and hence it is a good thing that the stress update can be done independent of the Jacobian.

- Jorgen

Topic Tags
12 Replies
Topic starter
(@karenha)

I see, this is what exactly I need.

Thank s a lot Jorgen for making this clear:

STRESS --> return exactly value

DDSDDE --> mainly for iteration and convergence purpose.

--------------------------------------------------

Now, I am using ABAQUS C3D8H continuum element to model muscle collagen network, and embed truss element T3D2 in these continuum elements to simulate muscle fiber.

The constitutive law I am temporarily using for the fiber is that it has no resistence to collagen network deformation, but it can generate active contraction force.

So in the fiber the passive stress will be zero, but active contraction stress should be non-zero.

If I use UMAT for the fiber, I shall set

STRESS = active contraction stress (a function of current stretch ratio of fiber)

DDSDDE = 0.

Is this ok? Will convergence problem occur due to zero DDSDDE?